Query performance issues

From the Stardog mailing list: Original thread is Redirecting to Google Groups (way too many emails to copy over to here)

Hi there,

I'm new to using Stardog and have been playing around with a very small number of triples (<100,000), yet I am still encountering problems with query performance.
Running this query to return all triples takes about 8 seconds: select * where {?s ?p ?o .}
Running more complex queries causes the server to time out.
I'm wondering whether the issue might be in my database settings, or perhaps in memory allocation. I have 4 gb of heap and 4 gb of non-heap memory allocated. When I reduce these values to 2 gb, I still have the same problem.
I am using reasoning type EL and sameAs reasoning "Full." Query All Graphs is set to "On." All index settings are set to the default.
Stardog server is running on an AWS instance with 7.5 GB of memory and 4 cores (c4.xlarge).

Another thing: I tried to generate a query plan to determine whether the problem was in my queries, not the software. However when I run "stardog-admin query list -u username" and enter my password in order to get the query ID, it returns "0 queries running," even when I have a query running which has been running for about 10 seconds (so before the timeout hits).

Hi,

This may sound a little strange, but if you try this, do you get the same result, or does your query finish?

1. Do a stardog data export of your database (The one that contains the obib ontology, the terms.ttl, and the data)
  2. Create a new database and use that exported rdf file to do so stardog-admin db create -n myNewAwesomeDb myExport.ttl
  3. Try running the query (with reasoning) on that new database.

First of all, let me thank you all for the amazing support on this problem that I’ve received over the last several days.

Over the last few days, my team and I have been able to improve Stardog’s performance by following a few steps.