[SPARQL Fun]: mind the curly brackets

Hello everyone,

This section was created a while ago but remained fairly dormant. We're going to try to change that! Over the years we have seen many queries which, if executed according to the SPARQL spec, won't do what their authors wanted. We think this section is the great place to show some examples to help SPARQL users avoid those pitfalls. We might push some longer explanations to the Stardog Labs blog (working on one already!) but shorter ones can go here.

I am not very good at naming things so I'll just dub it "SPARQL Fun" :slight_smile:

We'll start with a very basic thing: scoping (or Group Graph Patterns). Things that go inside {}. In most cases adding extra curly brackets, eg. to visually group things together in a query, does not change the results. For example:

SELECT ?name ?mbox
WHERE  {
          ?x foaf:name ?name .
          ?x foaf:mbox ?mbox .
       }

returns exact same results as

SELECT ?name ?mbox
WHERE  { { ?x foaf:name ?name . }
         { ?x foaf:mbox ?mbox . }
       }

But be careful! There are patterns in SPARQL where it could change results in a rather unexpected way. Good examples are BINDs and FILTERs. Let's take a look at the latter:

SELECT * {
    ?person :lives ?city
    OPTIONAL { 
        ?person :worksFor ?company .
        ?company :hq ?hqCity .
        FILTER (?city = ?hqCity)
    }
}

this query returns all people and company information for those who work for a company headquartered in their home city. The plan looks expected:

`─ Projection(?person, ?city, ?company, ?hqCity) [#1]
   `─ MergeJoinOuter(?person)(?city = ?hqCity) [#1]
      +─ Scan[PSO](?person, :lives, ?city) [#1]
      `─ Sort(?person) [#1]
         `─ MergeJoin(?company) [#1]
            +─ Scan[POS](?person, :worksFor, ?company) [#1]
            `─ Scan[PSO](?company, :hq, ?hqCity) [#1]