SPARQL Rule with reasoning does not work

Hello All,

I am a newbie to Stardog DB and try to use the Rule and the reasoning feature of Stardog. I expect from enabling the reasoning and using the following simple rule to update values of individuals matching to the IF condition. It does happening. I will truly appreciate if you can help me.
Here is the simple rule that tries to update the state of a ?x based on the state of another object ?p.
I added the rule to the database and the web interface for database browsing shows it as a SPARQLRule. I also enabled reasoning and chose the SL reasoning algorithm.

IF {	?x a :Path.
        ?x   :hasActive  ?p.
	?p  :hasState ?s.
	BIND ( ?s AS ?state).

}
    THEN {
        ?x  :hasState ?state .
    }

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

Please share the query you are executing, the expected results and the actual results.

Jess

Hi Jess,
Thanks for your reply,
I am not running any query, I am under the impression of this rule will fire whenever any changes in the db are happening and I expect it updates the ?X state with the state of ?P. To test if it works, I simply change the state of the ?P to “Inactive” and expect ?X :hasState "active" changes to ?X :hasState "Inactive" automaticlly.

BR,

Hi,

It sounds like you are expecting the rules to materialize triples and act as sort of a "trigger." Stardog does not perform materialization; we perform Query Rewriting at query runtime.

In short, If you run the query select * where {?x :hasState "active"}, it will give you all of the entities that either explicitly have that triple in the db, or for which the rule applies. Instead of looking for ?X :hasState "Inactive" in the database, try running the query above, changing a state, and running it again. You should see the results you're looking for.

Hi,