Create New DB w Stardog Express

I'm using the Express product. I tried to do the Beatles tutorial but it says "to run the code snippets in this tutorial you need the dbs stardog-tutorial-beatles and stardog-tutorial-music would you like us to create them? I select "Create" but then get a red error message in the lower right corner that says I don't have permission to create a db and to check with my admin.

I'm an independent private consultant so just running on my Windows 10 Pro Desktop to which I have full admin rights. I think the problem is my connection which is anonymous@https://express.stardog.cloud:5820 I think that is a read only connection. Is there a way to get permission to create new dbs on my own desktop? I would prefer that rather than in the cloud because besides wanting to do the tutorial I have a fairly large (apx. 3M triples) knowledge graph I would like to load once I get more familiar with the tool. Or is that too large for the Express product?

Hi Michael,

Thanks for your question. As you suspected, Stardog Express provides read only access via the 'anonymous' user. It's mostly meant to experiment querying the provided datasets. Thanks for pointing out this issue. I can see how this can be confusing. We'll provide some clarifications around running through the embedded tutorials in Stardog Express.

If you'd like to create your own databases, add data to them, etc. you'll want to stand up your own Stardog server to which you can connect to via Stardog Studio. You can then run through the embedded tutorials in Studio without hitting the permissions error.

You can follow our quickstart guide to install and setup Stardog. Please let us know if you have any issues/questions getting started.

Cheers,
Noah

Thanks, I will follow the quickstart guide and setup Stardog on my machine.

Michael,