New Windows 10 install - localhost refuses to connect

Hello

I'm new to stardog and docker and cannot access the server on port 5820 after following the install instructions on Windows 10 Enterprise.

Quick assistance would be much appreciated as we're trying to trial stardog on a project with a deadline.

To begin I can't find any Windows specific install instructions, but I assume we're supposed to follow the steps at: Home | Stardog Documentation Latest.

I had to replace the linux home directory, which also was not explicitly stated for Windows users e.g.:

docker run -it -v c:\stardog-home:/var/opt/stardog stardog/stardog

After running the command the trial license was downloaded and the server states its running on port 5820.

However I cannot connect to the server via a browser on my local machine i.e. http://localhost:5820.

I have disabled Windows Firewall so that cannot be the problem.

I've checked for related topics but nothing has been helpful.

As suggested in the topic below I did try adding a parameter to the above command to specify hyper-v isolation but it fails with this error:

docker: Error response from daemon: Invalid isolation: "hyperv" - linux only supports 'default'.

Hi Aaron,

You will want to include -p 5820:5820 in your docker run command to bind port 5820 locally to port 5820 on the container, which is where the server is listening.

Hi Stephen

Thanks for the quick response. After adding that parameter I get an http authentication dialog, however I cannot authenticate.

I've tried the default admin/admin as per the instructions and that results in a 404.

Also tried creating a .sdpass password file as per instructions and the dialog but the credentials I added are rejected.

Re: "on a Windows system, it will look for sdpass.conf in Application Data\stardog" that file does not exist on my system, however as I'm running a linux docker container I would assume this file would not be required.